The Claims Review is a series of case studies which either have been paid by ITIC or where assistance has been rendered in. You will find these invaluable in helping to identify potential claims exposure.

Search filters

Latest Issue, The Claims Review - Issue 43, October 2020


Claims Review 43


20/10/2020
Welcome to the Autumn edition of ITIC’s Claims Review. Since the last edition we all seem to have been subject to various forms of lockdowns and travel restrictions, with many of us working from our homes.

20/10/2020
An ITIC member acted as a marine consultant, stowage and lashing planning advisor for the stowage of steel coils.

20/10/2020
A ship manager oversaw the repairs of a ship at a shipyard in China. On August 10th 2018 the ship manager received an email from “Azula” at the shipyard concerning the first payment due for the repairs.

20/10/2020
A shipbroker realised they had remitted US$ 360,000 of freight by mistake to an incorrect party.

20/10/2020
Robert Sniffen, Director, sits down to chat with the Claims Review editor for the second in a regular interview series, where we get to know ITIC’s claims handlers. In this interview, Robert outlines the most memorable claim he has handled and literally describes his pet hate… which is literally so annoying!

20/10/2020
A ship agent was notified by their principal that a ship would arrive at the port on 30th July. The ship agent allegedly notified the port and local customs of the impending arrival on 27th July.

20/10/2020
A liner agent booked two containers for a shipping line, one with a cargo of bananas and one a cargo of shrimps, both for delivery to the same country.

20/10/2020
A ship agent received notification from their principal that the port of destination had issued new regulations specifying that ships carrying specific dangerous cargo would not be permitted to enter particular berths.

20/10/2020
A yacht manager was instructed by the owners to settle the fees of an artisan carpet maker who had renewed the interior carpet of a yacht. The owners liked the work and ordered some extra carpets.

20/10/2020
A shipbroker mistakenly understood that owners had agreed to discount the overage rate by 50%, meaning that cargo loaded above 66,000MT would be charged at US$13.5 per MT instead of US$27 per MT.

20/10/2020
A shipbroker had previously arranged a fixture between the same principals with discharging in north China.

20/10/2020
ITIC insured a naval architect in Australia, who was also insured as a surveyor for small commercial vessel coding approval on behalf of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA).

20/10/2020
A ship agent failed to manifest a cargo, which was a yacht, at the original port of loading. At the second port on the voyage the customs inspectors identified the error and seized the yacht.

20/10/2020
A shipbroker was asked to assist a buyer to place a bid in a judicial auction.

20/10/2020
In the last Claims Review we offered you the opportunity to “Ask the Editor”. Here are a some of the questions that we have been asked.

Get a quote

Get a Quote

Fill in the relevant proposal form to receive a quote.

Make a claim

Make a claim

Guidance on how to report a claim.

Talk to our experts

Talk to our experts

Contact us at ITIC.
+44 (0)20 7204 2928

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.